Skip to main content
Caspian Sea

Caspian Sea countries

Azerbaijan, Iran, Kazakhstan, Russia and Turkmenistan

Caspian Sea

Russian Federation

The Russian Federation covers the Northeastern coastline of the Caspian Sea. The territory of the country holds the river basin of the Volga River, which accounts for 80% of the inflow to the Caspian Sea and therefore also the major part of pollutants such as oil and nitrogen.


The total area of Azerbaijan lies within the basin of the Caspian Sea. This means that all activities and initiatives influencing the Azerbaijani natural environmental will also have an influence on the environment of the Caspian Sea. The eastern part of the country leads out to the Caspian Sea with a shoreline of 825km.


Turkmenistan spans across the Southeastern coast of the Caspian Sea. The Turkmen territory of the sea offers many hydrocarbon reserves as well as recreational areas. The oil and gas reserves have been estimated to a total of 18.2 billion tons, which pose as an important export for the country.


Iran borders the Southern shore of the Caspian Sea with a coastline of about 1000 km, and 11% of the terrestrial territory hold the southern Caspian watershed.


Kazakhstan borders the Northeastern part of the Caspian Sea with a coastline of 2320 km, which is approximately one third of the total Caspian coastline. The most Northern part of the territory is shallow and accommodates a wide range of biological species.